A Quick Recap Of BJP’s Historic Win In The 2019 Elections - Homegrown

A Quick Recap Of BJP’s Historic Win In The 2019 Elections

With the General Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results out on 23rd May, it is evidently a clean sweep for Bhartiya Janata Party after bagging 303 seats out of 542 seats - a majority. Congress won 92 seats while others share the remaining 100 seats. BJP’s performance has exceeded its tally of 2014. With a promise to take everyone along in his victory speech, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, continues his second term of leadership in the office, with his party crossing the 300 seat mark within 3 hours of counting.

This year 900 million voters were eligible to take part in the seven rounds of voting, making it the largest election the world has ever seen. It attracted a turnout of over 67%, the highest ever in the history of general elections, with the record of highest participation in Indian elections by women. This is the first time that the results of the voting machines will be matched with the VVPATs or slips generated by paper trail machines.

BJP has made noteworthy counts in West Bengal and Telangana. The saffron wave has not only swept through the heartland of Hindi, Marathi and Gujarat, but also rippled through West Bengal, Odisha and Karnataka. While Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh remained untouched, BJP saw a landslide victory in North, West India, states like Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Haryana, with a vote share of almost 50%, taking a massive lead over the Congress led UPA.

Statistic showcasing the number of seats by respective parties in the General Election

Sadhvi Pragya won in Bhopal with 3 lakh votes, while Prime Minister Narendra Modi wins the Varanasi seat by 3.85 lakh votes. Amit Shah wins Gandhinagar by 5 lakh votes, whereas DMK leader Kanimozhi won her first ever Lok Sabha election in Tamil Nadu, against BJP Chief Tamilisai Soundararajan by a margin of 3,47,209 votes.

In Punjab, Congress won 8 seats while their Candidate Rahul Gandhi won Kerala’s Wayand seat with a record margin of 4,31,770 votes. It is ahead in 19 of 20 seats. The YSR Congress is set to come to power in Andhra Pradesh, with 144 of the state’s 175 assembly seats and in all 25 of its Lok Sabha seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was given best wishes by other world leaders like US President Donald Trump, Israel PM Benjamin Netanyahu, Pakistan PM Imran Khan, Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina, Palestine President Mahmoud Abbas, Chinese President Xi Jinping congratulating him on his win and looking forward for future associations.

Today, the Union Cabinet is expected to meet to recommend the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

If you enjoyed reading this article, we suggest you read:

One Man’s Fierce Criticism Of Modi Govt Through Spoken Word Poetry

This Election Result, Know How India’s Prime Minister Is Appointed

What If Tinder Took Over Elections

Related Articles